Australia star Adam Zampa left red-faced as Mankad attempt goes wrong

398     0
Australia cricket star Adam Zampa was left red-faced as his Mankad attempt went wrong and the third umpire dismissed his appeal (Image: Twitter@https://twitter.com/WisdenCricket/status/1610212786570956800)
Australia cricket star Adam Zampa was left red-faced as his Mankad attempt went wrong and the third umpire dismissed his appeal (Image: Twitter@https://twitter.com/WisdenCricket/status/1610212786570956800)

Australia cricket star Adam Zampa was left red-faced when his Mankad attempt went wrong in the Melbourne derby between the Stars and Renegades.

The attempt came in the opening innings as Renegades batter Tom Rogers left the crease at the non-strikers end. Zampa completed his bowling action but failed to release the ball instead attempting to run out the Renegades batsman in a Mankad attempt.

The third umpire Shawn Craig adjudged that the bowler had gone 'past the vertical' in his bowling action and ruled the decision not out after it was referred. Rogers went on to take five wickets in his side's 33-run victory.

Melbourne Stars head coach David Hussey disagreed with the Mankad attempt and said the appeal would have been withdrawn if the umpire's not out decision was changed.

He said: "I've spoke to (Adam) Zampa already. If it had of been given out, we would have withdrawn our appeal anyway. It's not the right way to play cricket.

Pakistan-born Australia star "stranded" with visa issues preventing India entry rridqqieqiqerinvPakistan-born Australia star "stranded" with visa issues preventing India entry

"Yet it was more of a warning to the batter not to leave too early because at the end of the innings that's what generally happens."

Australia star Adam Zampa left red-faced as Mankad attempt goes wrongTom Rogers left the crease at the non-strikers end before Adam Zampa had released the ball (Twitter@https://twitter.com/WisdenCricket/status/1610212786570956800)

What are your thoughts about the Mankad dismissal? Let us know in the comments section

The Mankad form of dismissal is the same as running out. It happens when the non-striking batsman has left the crease before a delivery has left the bowler's hand. If the bowler fails to release the ball and instead backs up they can then run out the non-striking batsman who would be judged to be out by Mankad.

The controversial dismissal dates back to 1947 in Sydney when Indian bowler Vinoo Mankad ran out Bill Brown when backing up. The form of dismissal is rarely seen although Jos Butler was the victim of a Mankad attempt during the 2019 IPL at the hands of Ravichandran Ashwin.

Australia star Adam Zampa left red-faced as Mankad attempt goes wrongMelbourne Stars bowler Adam Zampa faced criticism for his Mankad attempt (Twitter@https://twitter.com/WisdenCricket/status/1610212786570956800)

Fans were divided on Australian international Zampa's Mankad attempt with some thinking the bowler was right. @harveyangus tweeted: "Well done Zampa. Every bowler in every league, level and match should be doing this around the globe. It will stop the batsman cheating on every delivery. Or let the bowler release from where the batsman has moved to."

However, others agreed with the umpires that Zampa shouldn't have completed his bowling action without releasing the ball. @wokeandneutral added: "Unfortunately, according to those pesky rules, it is only Zampa that is cheating. Enticing the batsman to move out of his crease by completing his bowling his action is the lowest."

Benjamin Goddard

Print page

Comments:

comments powered by Disqus